Shopping Cart
Your Cart is Empty
There was an error with PayPalClick here to try again
CelebrateThank you for your business!You should be receiving an order confirmation from Paypal shortly.Exit Shopping Cart

What is Ayurveda?

Ayurveda is an ancient, yet living health tradition with it's roots in the Indian subcontinent over 5000 years ago.   "Ayur" meaning life and "Veda" meaning knowledge or wisdom, Ayurveda is the science of life.  Thousands of years before modern medicine provided scientific evidence for the mind-body connection, the sages of India developed Ayurveda, which continues to be one of the world’s most sophisticated and powerful mind-body health systems.

Ayurveda looks at the whole person and understands the importance of the interconnectedness of the health of one's body, mind and spirit.  Unlike conventional medicine which is a disease based approach and which looks to cure the symptoms, Ayurveda looks at the whole person and looks to address the root cause of the symptoms, restoring balance, harmony and perfect health naturally.


Ayurveda is based on the 5 elements and denotes that our bodies are made up of these 5 elements. Air, Ether, Water, Fire, Earth. We are all a combination of all 5 elements but we have varying amounts individually. Ayurveda takes these 5 elements and puts them into 3 doshas or humors called Vata, Pitta and Kapha.

Vata Dosha

Vata is Air + Ether

Vata is the subtle energy that governs the physiology of movement in the body.

Vata qualities are dry, light, cold, rough, subtle, mobile, clear

Vata is predominant in Autumn

Vata is predominant from age 60 onwards

Vata is predominant in the afternoon (3-7pm) and late night (2-6am)

Pitta Dosha

Pitta is Fire + Water

Pitta is the subtle energy that governs the physiology of metabolism in the body

Pitta qualities are oily, sharp, pungent, hot, light, spreading, liquid

Pitta is predominant in Summer

Pitta is predominant from age 20 to 60 years

Pitta is predominant in the middle of the day (11am-4pm) and during the middle of the night (12-2am)

Kapha Dosha

Kapha is Earth + Water

Kapha is the subtle energy that governs the physiology of structure in the body

Kapha qualities are heavy, sticky, stable, cold, oily, soft, firm, dull

Kapha is predominant in Winter and Spring

Kapha is predominant in childhood from birth up to 16 years

Kapha is predominant in the morning (6-10am) and early part of the night (5-11pm)